First blog post: A welcome and info about this site

  • 2022-05-28

    2022-12-10

    Sebastian Sela

  • information

    website

Read more

Note: While this post's title says it's the first blog post, there are posts dated earlier than it. Those posts are longer posts I wrote before starting this blog that I've reposted here. Just FYI.


Hello, welcome to the introductory blog post on this website! This will be a bit long, as it's written for multiple purposes, which I'll go over in the post, so keep on reading for more info!

Let's start by going over this blog. Posts are sorted manually by me. I'll try to keep them sorted in the order I wrote them, ergo release date, but as some posts will be imported from other places there may be some that show up out of order, just contact me and I'll fix it. For longer posts, such as this one, it will show as collapsed on first load, but there is a "Read more"-button either on the left side of this post (desktop) or below the post (mobile) that can be pressed to display the whole post. The tags shown on the posts can be pressed, whereby it they will be filtered based on the selected tags. Deselecting all tags will return it to inital filtering.

Onto the website. Overall, it's meant to act as a hub for all things me, so things I want to share can be found here (more details below). The site is developed by myself, and it's hosted on Neocities so I don't have to worry about servers and such. Updates to the site are sporadic, made when I have the time for it.

On this site, you'll find

  • Home page - As of writing, this is where you can find "About" and "Find me", as well as some featured items.
  • Portfolio - Things I feel showcase my skillset. Can be videos I've done, games I've worked on, or if I've made a particularily good image. If you're interested in my work, please check out this page.
  • Blog - Longer text posts. I sometimes write longer text posts on my Tumblr or threads on Twitter regarding various things like game reviews, thoughts on various subjects, or just some list I felt like making. I'll gather up some of the ones I've made over the years here, as well as any new ones I write or other types of blog posts.
  • Mattips - An app I developed to help people figure what to eat for dinner if they're having trouble with it. Orignially an app for Android, it's now available to use on this website. May eventually be folded into a "Tools" subsection.

As this site is hosted on Neocities, I have no server backend or anything to rely on, so everything is made manually. As such, some changes may be available on one page but not another. Should you find anything of this sort, feel free to contact me about it. You can find out how here.

Lastly, this post was written as I developed the Blog page. While this post may not be the longest one I'll feature here, as I planned on having a "Read more"-button in case a post gets too long, I needed a long enough post to test it with. While I could add an already written post instead of writing a new one entirely, I would have to write this post anyway to have as an introduction, so why not get it out of the way immediately. Hopefully as you're reading this, you can or have seen that "Read me" button and have been able to use it as intended.

I think that about wraps it up for now. Time to work on the actual functionality and design of the blog. Have a good one, I'll see you in the next blog post.

Oh, if you have any suggestions or anything for the site, feel free to contact me about them. The links exist on the "Find me" section, so just take a look there and message me wherever you please. Anyway, I have nothing else to say so I'll be leaving now.

Read more