Site update #4: New additions, Project Nonogram, and personal update

  • 2023-03-26

    ---

    Sebastian Sela

  • funky productions

    game dev

    information

    nonogos

    programming

    project nonogram

    update

    website

    work in progress

Read more

Hello all! It's been a while since I made a post regarding the changes made on this site, so it's time to update y'all on what's changed since... the start of June? Oof, that's long ago, sorry about that. I've talked about some of these things on my Twitter, so follow me there to stay up-to-date on my latest news.

Starting with additions, I've added a new page: Recommendations. On this page you can find things I recommend, whether games, songs, movies, or anything else I feel like recommending. This page will be updated whenever I feel like I have something to recommend. The About section on the homepage has been moved to its own page and improved upon a bit. Similarily, the Find Me section has also been moved to the About page, but you can also find my social links either in the header above or below Links in the footer at the bottom of any page. Replacing these sections on the homepage is the Latest Blogposts section where I show the three latest posts, and the Featured section remains here as well. Finally, I've added the More option in the header menu and below Navigation in the footer. I've previously mentioned a Tools menu option for the site: This is that, but less restricted in what I can put there. You can currently find Recommendations and Mattips through this.

Onto changes. The Portfolio page has been updated, using a similar design as the Recommendations page. Click on any project to show its description. The projects don't take up as much space now as before, and the page's design is sleeker than before if I may say so myself. On the backend side of things, I've further partitioned scripts for more global use, making it even easier for me to maintain the site. Finally, some of the long-standing bugs that have plagued the site have also finally been fixed, functions that went kaputt for seemingly no reason. Read more and tags on Blog, and the aforementioned More button in Navigation also had problems for the longest time.

I'm pretty content with the state of the site, so for the time being this is how it's gonna look. However, I'm always busy with other stuff. It's time to update y'all a bit on Project Nonogram.

After introducing it to you in this blogpost, I've been making slow but steady progress on it. I shared a video back in December that I failed to make a blogpost about, but you can watch it below.

Unfortunately I haven't felt the game has been in a presentable state since, so I haven't shared anything else in a while. I've fixed some things, added support for e.g. multiple languages, and more. I'm currently adding controller support to the game, but when that's done I plan on sharing some more. For now, enjoy an in-development image of the title screen!

Yes, the name of the game will be Nonogos! It's derived from nonogram and "No No-Go's", the latter referring to how there are "no limits" to my puzzles, given they're not restricted to the typical increments of 5x5 grids I've seen in basically all nonogram games I've played. Even if the "no limits" bit is a bit excessive, I like the name well enough to stick with it. Also, the FFB logos in the background of the image are temporary.

It's about time to wrap this up, so I'll briefly mention some personal updates. At the start of the year, I got glasses. It's definitely something I have to get used to, and I'm learning what I want out of glasses. Have to admit I look kinda good in them, not gonna lie. I've also started taking driving lessons, so we'll see how that goes. As for this blog, I'm trying to get at least one post out a month. So far I've done three reviews (Assassin's Creed RPG, Sonic Frontiers, Like a Dragon), a post talking about my bad luck with recommendations, and the one you're reading as well. Finally, and this may impact Nonogos, I'm partaking in Xbox Game Camp Sweden taking place in a few weeks. It's 10 weeks longs, ending close to July. Really excited for it.

Anyways, I'll keep you updated on Nonogos when I've got more to share. Don't forget that Twitter is where I'm most active if you want the latest news when available. For the time being, have a good day and all that jazz.

Read more