50 vehicles I’d like to see in the next GTA

  • 2023-12-02

    ---

    Sebastian Sela

  • grand theft auto

    gta

    gta next

    gta online

    gta v

    rockstar games

Read more

December looks to be a busy month for Grand Theft Auto. On December 14, the Definitive versions of III, Vice City, and San Andreas are being released on iOS and Android via Netflix. GTA Online seems to be getting its next update around the 12th, and it features Yusuf Amir and a bunch of things to celebrate Rockstar’s 25th anniversary. And finally, we’re getting our first look at the next GTA on Tuesday December 5th at 9 AM ET (which would be 15 CET). I find it odd how they still haven’t given us a title for the game or a hashtag, makes me wonder if it will even be called VI.

Anyway, I’m in hype mode at the moment, so I thought I’d go through a bunch of the cars that have been added to Online over the past decade to narrow down some cars I’d love to see return in the sequel. I’m only going over the cars actually in Online, so no Savanna since it’s still only available in San Andreas. As I expect some semblance of a grounded world at launch, I won’t be including any of the more out there vehicles like the Scramjet, Oppressor, or Blazer Aqua, or Thruster.


1. Deluxo – I’ll start off with this one due to the disclaimer above. In this instance, I only care about the Deluxo as a car. It’s one of the most fun cars to drive in the game, and the hovercar aspect is just a bonus even if it was the primary reason for me to get it. Remove the hover functionality at launch, then when ”the time is right”, add it as a modification specifically for the Deluxo (yes, I’m hoping they can organize the cars a bit better and not have to introduce a completely new car when they want to add more customization to it, like they did with Daemon and Surfer in Online, for example).

2. Buffalo (STX) – The standard Buffalo that spawns in traffic in V is one of the coolest cars in the franchise and I’d very much like to see it return in the next one. However, I fear it may be a bit outdated at this point so they might just replace it with one of the other 4 versions available. If they do that, I’d want the STX version to be the main version available. Never was a fan of the slight alterations made to S, and EVX just doesn’t cut it; it’s doesn’t even have 4 doors!

3. Stallion – The car that at one point was the face of the franchise and didn’t even make it into the original PS360 version of V. I feel like it got treated poorly in V, as it barely has any customization and didn’t even utilize the new rooftop removal feature they added to some convertible cars.

4. Kuruma – GTA III’s Kuruma is one of my favorite cars in the series, and while this new version doesn’t quite satisfy me, I think its armored version has made it into one of V’s standout cars and would therefore love to see it return in the next game.

5. Zentorno – Like the Kuruma, Zentorno is one of V’s standout cars, being an early released car that’s still remembered by the community. As the first wholly original GTA V vehicle on this list, it deserves a spot in the next game’s vehicle list.

6. Bati 801 – The best bike in all of GTA V. Been my go to bike for all of Online’s lifetime. Fast, stable, one of few superbikes, capable of popping wheelies, very great to stunt with. All in all it might be my favorite vehicle in all of V.

7. Reever – A recent acquisition of mine, the Reever feels like the closest Rockstar have gotten to making a new Bati. Doesn’t feel as stable or reliable as the Bati, but it’s also fun to ride.

8. Kamacho – The Kamacho fills a void left by the Patriot when it changed from a military Hummer into a civilian one with GTA IV. It’s one of the best looking vehicles in the game and it drives well, being another standout original vehicle.

9. Patriot – Now that Hummers are out of production, I’m worried the Patriot won’t show up in the next GTA. It’s a mainstay for good reason so I’m probably just worrying over nothing, but I hope it shows up again.

10. Tempesta – Similar to an Infernus (or any of the Lamborghini-likes, really), except it looks the way it drives: smooth. Just a great car all around.

11. Boor – When I played through Forza Horizon 2, there was this Subaru Brat I tuned to the extreme. I normally don’t tune my cars, so it made the Brat a bit more special than other cars. I transferred it over to Horizon 3 and continued its journey. Sometime later, the Boor gets added to Online, and I was surprised over how similar it could look to my Horizon car. I would like to carry that legacy over to the next GTA, for fun.

12. Mamba – I’m a fan of vehicles whose names were first introduced in the games prior to GTA III, and it helps that Mamba is a cool lookin’ vehicle as well. While I prefer driving the similar looking Coquette Blackfin, Mamba is the better looking vehicle so I hope it makes the cut.

13. Jester – The new version of the Jester based on a Honda NSX may not have been what fans of the Toyota Supra version would have wanted, it’s still a cool vehicle in its own right. Any version of the Jester will satisfy me, but this is another case of a car feeling a bit neglected, even if it’s one of few vehicles that got a dedicated racing alt.

14. Sultan – A cool and fast 4-door car that feels great to drive no matter the surface, it’s one of the cars I feel should appear in every GTA game moving forward.

15. Tornado – A very classic look for cars, you can’t go wrong with including the Tornado in a GTA game.

16. Z-Type – Another old name, this time from GTA 2. I am curious why they went with Z-Type when it was a gang car in that game and not either of A- or B-Type, but it’s the one I remember the best so I may have answered my own question. Regardless, a very cool and stylish vehicle that deserves another game, even if there’s canonically only 10 of them in the world.

17. Jackal – One of the sleekest new cars in V, it’s very stylish but lacks a lot of love that later cars have. I want to see this return with a bit more stuff you can do with it.

18. Jugular – Yet another old name, returning from I believe the first GTA. Similar to the Jackal, but more sporty looking. All I’m saying is I like 4-door cars that look good.

19. Roosevelt – Old cars is a category of cars that feels underserved in Online. Roosevelt is one of the more unique looking cars in the game as well, so bringing it over would be great.

20. Stinger – The Stinger is another name that’s stuck around since the 2D era. While I prefer its 3D era sports car iteration a bit more than its current form, the new look is more fitting of the name’s seniority and just looks great in its own right.

21. Penetrator – The Jaguar XJ220, which this car is based on, has for me always had a bit of a mythical aura to it that I can’t quite explain. The Penetrator’s unique look makes it a shoo-in for the next game in my opinion.

22. Rhapsody – Very fun design on this one as it is very round. Enjoyed it since its debut in TLAD, so I hope it returns.

23. Panto – One of them SMART cars, or FLE as it was called in Midtown Madness 3. Nothing else quite like it from what I remember.

24. Picador – The Picador has always held a special place in my heart since I first got to know Ryder in San Andreas. The version available in V was a bit of a letdown, but the Marshall uses a rescaled body of a Picador that has proportions more akin to what I’m after. Adding the Picador with the size of the Marshhall’s body would be neat.

25. JB700 – I’ve always been a sucker for the Aston Martin DB5 when used in the Bond movies, and having access to it in a game like GTA is just great, even if I don’t drive it that often.

26. Nero (Custom) – I only recently acquired this car in Online, but it’s quickly become one of my favorite cars to drive. It just feels smooth and I’m particularly fond of the customization I went with. Bringing it to the next game as the Bugatti vehicle would be neat.

27. Windsor Drop – A 4-door convertible car, just like the Savanna. If they won’t bring back the Savanna, I may have better chances with the car that has a HD model.

28. Gargoyle – A neat chopper/dirtbike hybrid of sorts. Feels very nice to drive and looks grungy and cool.

29. Chimera – Just being a 3-wheeled bike makes it unique, but having two on the rear makes it my preffered choice between it and Stryder. It isn’t the greatest riding experience, but I hope being brought into the next game can make it more fun.

30. Greenwood – A classic looking sedan, which is a type of car V’s sorely lacking. It feels great to drive and it looks good. Add it to the next GTA to make sure there’s at least one.

31. Torero XO – A modern classic in GTA terms: relatively new and it feels great to drive. Stylish as well.

32. Esskey – A pretty cool bike that looks slightly older and somewhat compact, it would be nice to see it return.

33. Bifta – Taking on the design of the 3D era BF Injection, a beach buggy is a fun design for a vehicle and therefore deserves a spot. Same could be said about the Dune Buggy, but this looks more fun in comparison.

34. Gang Burrito – The Gang Burrito in Vice City is still the coolest van in all of GTA, but the new version comes close.

35. Winky – The classic Jeep design is a fun one. The car is objectively not good, but it’s fun.

36. BMX – I want bikes to return in the next GTA, and the BMX is probably the best bike overall.

37. Phantom – Of all the large trucks in the game, the Phantom has got to be my favorite. I don’t always drive these, but it’s always fun to drive one of these while listening to country.

38. Rhino – Of course the tank has got to make it in.

39. Caddy – Who doesn’t enjoy riding around in a golf car?

40. APC – A land vehicle that can also drive on water? Sign me up!

41. Seashark – Going boating in V mostly sucks for various reasons so the only boat I have any fondness over is the jetski.

42. Avisa – I want the submarine category to return mostly due to its uniqueness, so bring back the best one.

43. Maverick – I’m mostly adding this here due to its legacy. It hasn’t missed a single game so far so I doubt it’ll miss the next one, but I thought the Stallion would never be removed after III and look what happened to it. The helicopter of GTA.

44. Buzzard (Attack Chopper) – A fast, small, and nimble helicopter that is fun to fly around with, it has earned a spot as a mainstay methinks.

45. Hunter – The attack helicopter of the 3D era. I’m not fond of how it controls in V, so my hope is it getting brought back for the next game and being improved upon.

46. Sea Sparrow – The regular Sparrow in V is essentially a Buzzard, and while I haven’t flown the Sea Sparrow a ton I can only assume it feels similar to the regular version. The Sea Sparrow should just be a Sparrow with floaters to make it able to land on water, which is an improvement in every way if you ask me.

47. Dodo – THE GTA plane in my mind, having its roots as the only plane in III. V turning it into a seaplane made it much more unique and further makes it one of the more unique vehicles in the game and therefore one they should bring back.

48. Blimp – While it may not be the most graceful vehicle, it’s unique and its existence brings me enough enjoyment to warrant a return in the sequel.

49. Mallard – As one of the best feeling planes in V, it should return in the next GTA. (I will admit, I don’t have much experience with many of the DLC planes)

50. Duster – A biplane! A crop duster! Fun in theory, and that’s good enough for me. Not every vehicle needs to be great.


There we go, a list of 50 vehicles I’d like to see. There are many more cars I enjoy that I’d like to see return, but this list focuses mainly on some of my favorites and various unique vehicles I’d like to see return. Can’t wait to see the trailer.

Read more